Texas Laws

Parental Consent: required if you are under 18 and not married. There is a state produced consent form that must be completed by the minor patient and one of her parents, it must also be notarized. Notaries are available at the clinic; the parent must have current (not expired!) government issued identification in order for their signature to be notarized.

If obtaining parental consent is a problem for you, we can help you with information about obtaining a judicial bypass. Call us for details.

24-hour waiting period & sonogram: means a woman must receive state mandated information and a sonogram from her doctor at the clinic at least 24 hours before she can legally have an abortion.   This information is required by law to be given privately and in person.  Compliance with this law requires women to come the clinic two times.

If you live 100 miles or more from a clinic, you may be eligible to receive some of the information by phone.  You would then have a sonogram on the day of your appointment, then wait 2 hours before you can have the abortion.  This exception is also part of the law.

More information about the “Woman’s Right to Know Act” can be found at www.dshs.state.tx.us/wrtk.

24 hours before your abortion:

You must obtain information from the doctor and a sonogram.  Be sure to call the clinic for instructions and to schedule your appointment.
You must also receive written information regarding state licensing click here.

** On the date of your abortion appointment you will sign a certification form from the Texas Department of State Health Services indicating that you received a sonogram and specific information from your doctor 24 hours in advance.